About Temper

Release Date:
July 2, 2019

Publisher:
Scout Press

Digital Galleys:
NetGalley
Edelweiss+

Pre-Order Links:
Simon & Schuster
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository
IndieBound

Hardcover ISBN:
978-1982106720

Temper Summary

For fans of the high-stakes tension of the NYT bestseller Luckiest Girl Alive and Indiebound bestseller You Will Know Me, Layne Fargo’s debut novel Temper is a razor-sharp page turner about female ambition and what happens when fake violence draws real blood. This timely, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller will leave you breathless.

Actress Kira Rascher has finally landed the role of a lifetime. The catch? Starring in Temper means working with Malcolm Mercer, a mercurial director who’s known for pushing people past their limits—on stage and off.

Kira’s convinced she can handle Malcolm, but the theater’s cofounder, Joanna Cuyler, is another story. Joanna sees Kira as a threat—to her own thwarted artistic dreams, her twisted relationship with Malcolm, and the shocking secret she’s keeping. But as opening night draws near, Kira and Joanna both start to realize that Malcolm’s dangerous extremes are nothing compared to what they’re capable of themselves.

Advance Praise for Temper

“In her dark, sultry debut, Layne Fargo delves deep into the psychological war zone of the theater, perfectly capturing its hothouse world of rivalries, dalliances, and duels–both onstage and off. Toying with the line between victim and villain, real life and fantasy, Temper revels in its mind games, delivering twist after twist as it races toward a Shakespearean climax. The final page will leave you gasping.”
Amy Gentry, author of Last Woman Standing

“Utterly compelling. A fascinating look at our willingness to accept the destruction of others for the sake of artistic genius.”
Victoria Helen Stone, bestselling author of Jane Doe

Temper is a dark and sexy ride, its characters’ passion and rage snowballing in equal measure as the story builds to its shocking conclusion. This is the Black Swan psychological suspense novel we’ve all been waiting for.”
Wendy Heard, author of Hunting Annabelle

“Twisty, sexy, and so believable it’s scary, the pages of Temper bleed an irresistible blend of voice, subculture, and character. Compulsive reading for fans of Black Swan, Mozart in the Jungle, or (dare I say it?) real-life backstage theatrics.”
Jessica Strawser, bestselling author of Not That I Could Tell

Temper is a completely compelling read in which anger and passion fizzes off the page. It is a strong and timely story, with two unflinching heroines whom I was totally rooting for, especially as they revealed their most unabridged selves.”
Araminta Hall, author of Our Kind of Cruelty

Author Bio

Layne Fargo is a thriller author with a background in theater and library science. She’s a Pitch Wars mentor, a member of the Chicagoland chapter of Sisters in Crime, and the cocreator of the podcast Unlikeable Female Characters. Layne lives in Chicago with her partner and their pets.

Contact Information

For Press Inquiries:
meagan.harris@simonandschuster.com

For Agent/Rights Inquiries:
spelletier@dystel.com

For Film/TV Rights Inquiries:
dana.spector@caa.com

Author Email:
layne@laynefargo.com

Twitter    Instagram  Pinterest  

Copyright © 2018 by Layne Fargo
All Photos by Katharine Hannah